Academic Awards, Prizes and Honours

Each year the Department of French Studies recognizes its outstanding students with numerous awards and prizes, including the following:

The Chair's Honour Roll

The Chair's Honour Roll recognizes all those students who achieve an average of B+ or above in their French Studies courses in the preceding academic session.

The Chair's Honour Roll (PDF) (B+ or better) 2010-2011

The Micheline Saint-Cyr Prize ($150)

The Micheline Saint-Cyr Prize is an annual French-language short story contest that celebrates writing produced by York students. Each year, the best short story is awarded a prize of $150 and the writer is celebrated during a special event hosted by the Department of French Studies. The contest is open to all undergraduate, master's and doctoral students enrolled in French studies at the Keele or Glendon Campus.

David M. Walker Memorial Award: ($1000)

The David M. Walker Memorial Award will be given annually to the student majoring in French Studies, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies, who has obtained the highest grade in AP/FR 1080 6.0 and who demonstrates financial need. The recipient must also be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, and Ontario resident. This award has been established in memory of the late Professor David M. Walker.

The Department of French Studies Award: ($650)

The award was established to assist an undergraduate student majoring in French Studies in the Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies who has completed between 30 and 60 credits with a GPA of 6.0 or higher. The recipient must be currently registered in a minimum of 18 credits, must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, Ontario resident and must demonstrate financial need.

OMLTA prize

OMLTA prize is awarded to a student entering 3 rd or 4 th year who demonstrates outstanding achievement at the second year level. The award alternates on an annual basis between DFS Keele and DFS Glendon.

The Donald Jackson Book Prize

This prize is awarded to an Honours French Studies student in his/her graduating year, who obtains the highest French Studies GPA including at least two grades of "A" in his/her final year. This prize is acknowledged at the recipient's convocation ceremony.

The Hédi Bouraoui Essay Prize

This prize is awarded to a French Studies student in his/her third or fourth year for the best essay in any one of the three curricular areas: language, linguistics or literature.

The Chair's Prize

The Chair's Prize is awarded to the top graduating French Studies student.

The General Consulate of France Prize

This prize is awarded to a French Studies student for his/her exceptional participation in extracurricular cultural activities.

Department Prizes

These prizes are awarded to recognize outstanding academic achievement in each of the three areas of the French Studies curriculum: Language, Literature and Linguistics. Recipients of these prizes are selected at all four levels of study: 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000.